Page:Who leads us
Accessibility Tools
Sign in

Who leads us


The entire student body is able to join in activities that direct how the Union is run. This can be through running for election as one of our senior officer team, or as a member of our Council; getting involved in a campaign; volunteering to represent students on your academic programme; perhaps attending our termly General Meetings; or simply visiting this website to have your say through petitions and polls. To book a meeting, please click here.
Our elected team consists of our Sabbatical Officers (full-time, paid, non-voting at Council):
Samera Shabir
Zain Ul Abdin
Inshaal Ahmad
Raouf Abdussalam
The rest of the elected team comprises of:
Council Executive Officers
(volunteers, voting at Council)
  • Women's Officer
  • BME Officer
  • LGBT+ Officer
  • Officer for students with disabilities
  • Inclusion Officer
  • International Officer
  • Postgraduate Officer
  • Environment & Ethics Officer
  • RAG Officer
Other Council members
(all volunteers)
  • Chair of Council
  • 9 Lay Members (ex-portfolio, voting at Council)
  • Up to 3 Representatives (voting) from each of:
    • UBU Academic Representation (Faculty Representatives)
    • UBU Activities
    • UBU Sports
And also in attendance to follow Council business may be our two elected delegates for the National Union of Students (NUS) Conference which happens each spring.