Awards 2017

Awards from Activities Ball 2017

New Society of the Year

Winner: Baking Society

Shortlisted: Bollywood Dance Society and DKMS

Most Improved Media Area of the Year

Winner: The Bradford Student

Most Improved Society of the Year 

Winner: Infuzion 

Shortlisted: Bradford University Gaming Society

Media Area of the Year

Winner: Ramair

Society of the Year

Winner: First Aid Society

Shortlisted: African Caribbean Society and Islamic Theology Society 

Media Awards 

Oustanding contribution to The Bradford Student newspaper: Maria Treumann

Outstanding contribution to Bradford Student Cinema: Sandra Ise

BSP Project of the Year: 24 Hour Film Challenge 

Ramair Show of the Year: Around the World

Outstanding Contribution


Winner: Darcey Pilkington 

Shortlisted: Jack Redfern and Emily Harris


Winner: Lorna Quinn 

Shortlisted: Aisha Ssemwogerere and Cathy Mapfumo

Educational Event of the Year 

Winner: Midwifery Society - Understanding Baby Loss and Bereavement Conference

Shortlisted: Islamic Theology Society - Living in a Sexualised Society and First Aid Society - Industrial Accident Simulation 

Entertainment Event of the Year

Winner: Red Ribbon - Take Me Out

Shortlisted: Hindu Society and Pakistan Society - RANG '17 and African Caribbean Society - Roots Cultural Show

Campaign of the Year 

Winner: DKMS - Team Bradford vs Blood Cancer

Shortlisted: First Aid Society - Eliminate the By-stander Effect and Red Ribbon - HIV and AIDS Awareness

Fundraising Success of the Year

Winner: Islamic Society - £5000 for Human Relief Foundation

Shortlisted: DKMS

Executive Team of the Year

Winner: Ramair

Shortlisted: BUGS and DKMS

Collaborative Spirit of the Year

Winner: Hellenic and Cypriot Society

Shortlisted: Bradford Student Cinema and Red Ribbon

Individual Colours; dedication to a society and/or media area for 2 academic years

Abdur-Rahman Jimoh 

Aisha Ssemwogerere

Annam Karim

Ashika Morar 

Daniela Afonso

Darcey Pilkington

Faiz Ilyas

Fatimah Ibrahim

James Meltonville

Kieran Mistry 

Lauren Evered 

M. Sheharyar Waheed 

Mahad Zafar Ahmad

Maria Treumann 

Michael Edwards

Mohammed Omair Alam

Owen Bass

Philip Ige

Radhika Chaudhari

Rebecca Mcloughlin

Ruksana Begum

Sagiram Surendirarasa

Sandra Ise

Shaz Khan

Tharaga Kirupakaran

Zainab Garba-Sani

Zoe Knott

Special Colours; dedication to a society and/or media area for 4 or more academic years

Emily Harris - Ramair and Media Areas 

Freddie Marshall - Chemical Forensic Society 

Hamza Butt - Pakistan Society and Societies Federation Executive

Hamza Yousaf - African Caribbean Society, Pakistan Society and Societies Federation Executive 

Lorna Quinn - First Aid Society and Societies Federation Executive

Shreya Sonalker - Hindu Society